Former Tottenham defender Gary Mabbutt has exclusively told Football FanCast that Mike Dean was right to award Harry Kane a penalty against Aston Villa on Sunday.
Should Harry Kane have been awarded a penalty vs Aston Villa?
Having latched onto Lucas Moura’s pass, Kane looked certain to cut back onto his right foot. But after seeing Cash about to recklessly dive in, the Spurs striker allowed the ball to trickle out of playing, and waited for the contact.
Dean then needed no second invitation in pointing to the spot, leaving Kane with the task of converting past ex-Arsenal goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez to seal a much-needed three points for Jose Mourinho’s side following Carlos Vinicius’ first-half opener.
And Mabbutt agreed with Dean’s decision. He told Football FanCast:
“Cash has just come back into the side and I think that showed. In that particular situation, all Kane could do there was to get the ball into the box, and all Cash had to do was to try and block what Kane could have crossed into the box – he only had a small area to cover, which could have been done by staying on his feet.
“He decided to slide in and Harry saw the challenge coming in, and the referee saw what everyone else saw, a player taking Harry’s legs.
“It was quite clear that Harry wouldn’t have got the ball into the box and seeing the challenge coming in, Harry didn’t go ahead with what he was planning to do. He took a heavy challenge and I thought the referee was correct in giving a penalty.”